Man Booker Prize winners Man Booker Prize winners

Man Booker Prize winnersMan Booker Prize winners

Click here to view more Kerala PSC Study notes.

The Booker Prize, formerly known as the Booker Prize for Fiction (1969–2001) and the Man Booker Prize (2002–2019), is a literary prize awarded each year for the best novel written in English and published in the United Kingdom or Ireland. A sister prize, the International Booker Prize, is awarded for a book translated into English and published in the United Kingdom or Ireland. In 1971, V.S. Naipaul’s novel In a Free State was the first book by an Indian novelist to win the Booker.

മാൻ ബുക്കർ പ്രൈസ് ഫോർ ഫിക്ഷൻ (The Man Booker Prize for Fiction) അല്ലെങ്കിൽ ബുക്കർ പ്രൈസ്, ലോകത്തിൽ നോബൽ സമ്മാനം കഴിഞ്ഞാൽ ഒരു സാഹിത്യ കൃതിക്ക് ലഭിക്കുന്ന ഏറ്റവും പ്രസിദ്ധവും അഭിമാനകരമായി കരുതപ്പെടുന്നതുമായ ഒരു പുരസ്കാരമാണ്. ഈ പുരസ്കാരം എല്ലാ വർഷവും ഇംഗ്ലീഷ് ഭാഷയിൽ നോവൽ എഴുതുന്ന ഒരു കോമൺ വെൽത്ത് അംഗരാജ്യത്തിലെ അംഗത്തിനോ അയർലന്റ് രാജ്യാംഗത്തിനോ, സിംബാബ്‌വെ രാജ്യാംഗത്തിനോ നൽകുന്നു.

Indian Winners Of Man Booker Prize is

In a Free State V.S.Naipaul 1971
Midnight's Children Salman Rushdie 1981
The God of Small Things Arundhati Roy 1997
The Inheritance of loss Kiran Desai 2006
The White Tiger Arvind Adiga 2008

Man Booker Prize winners

Year Author Title Genre(s) Country
1969 P. H. Newby Something to Answer For Novel United Kingdom
1970 Bernice Rubens The Elected Member Novel United Kingdom
1971 V. S. Naipaul In a Free State Novel United Kingdom Trinidad and Tobago
1972 John Berger G. Experimental novel United Kingdom
1973 J. G. Farrell The Siege of Krishnapur Novel United Kingdom Ireland
1974 Nadine Gordimer The Conservationist Novel South Africa
Stanley Middleton Holiday Novel United Kingdom
1975 Ruth Prawer Jhabvala Heat and Dust Historical novel United Kingdom Germany
1976 David Storey Saville Novel United Kingdom
1977 Paul Scott Staying On Novel United Kingdom
1978 Iris Murdoch The Sea, the Sea Philosophical novel Ireland United Kingdom
1979 Penelope Fitzgerald Offshore Novel United Kingdom
1980 William Golding Rites of Passage Novel United Kingdom
1981 Salman Rushdie Midnight's Children Magic realism United Kingdom
1982 Thomas Keneally Schindler's Ark Biographical novel Australia
1983 J. M. Coetzee Life & Times of Michael K Novel South Africa
1984 Anita Brookner Hotel du Lac Novel United Kingdom
1985 Keri Hulme The Bone People Mystery novel New Zealand
1986 Kingsley Amis The Old Devils Comic novel United Kingdom
1987 Penelope Lively Moon Tiger Novel United Kingdom
1988 Peter Carey Oscar and Lucinda Historical novel Australia
1989 Kazuo Ishiguro The Remains of the Day Historical novel United Kingdom
1990 A. S. Byatt Possession Historical novel United Kingdom
1991 Ben Okri The Famished Road Magic realism Nigeria
1992 Michael Ondaatje The English Patient Historiographic metafiction Canada
Barry Unsworth Sacred Hunger Historical novel United Kingdom
1993 Roddy Doyle Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha Novel Ireland
1994 James Kelman How Late It Was, How Late Stream of consciousness United Kingdom
1995 Pat Barker The Ghost Road War novel United Kingdom
1996 Graham Swift Last Orders Novel United Kingdom
1997 Arundhati Roy The God of Small Things Novel India
1998 Ian McEwan Amsterdam Novel United Kingdom
1999 J. M. Coetzee Disgrace Novel South Africa
2000 Margaret Atwood The Blind Assassin Historical novel Canada
2001 Peter Carey True History of the Kelly Gang Historical novel Australia
2002 Yann Martel Life of Pi Fantasy and adventure novel Canada
2003 DBC Pierre Vernon God Little Black comedy Australia
2004 Alan Hollinghurst The Line of Beauty Historical novel United Kingdom
2005 John Banville The Sea Novel Ireland
2006 Kiran Desai The Inheritance of Loss Novel India
2007 Anne Enright The Gathering Novel Ireland
2008 Aravind Adiga The White Tiger Novel India
2009 Hilary Mantel Wolf Hall Historical novel United Kingdom
2010 Howard Jacobson The Finkler Question Comic novel United Kingdom
2011 Julian Barnes The Sense of an Ending Novel United Kingdom
2012 Hilary Mantel Bring Up the Bodies Historical novel United Kingdom
2013 Eleanor Catton The Luminaries Historical novel New Zealand
2014 Richard Flanagan The Narrow Road to the Deep North Historical novel Australia
2015 Marlon James A Brief History of Seven Killings Historical/experimental novel Jamaica
2016 Paul Beatty The Sellout Satirical novel United States of America
2017 George Saunders Lincoln in the Bardo Historical/experimental novel United States of America
2018 Anna Burns Milkman Novel United Kingdom
2019 Margaret Atwood The Testaments Novel Canada
Bernardine Evaristo Girl, Woman, Other Experimental novel United Kingdom
2020 Douglas Stuart Shuggie Bain Novel United Kingdom United States of America
Click here to search study notes. Click here to view all Kerala PSC Study notes. Click here to read PSC Question Bank by Category wise. Click here to Test your knowledge by atteneding Quiz.

Slogans of Banks in India


Name of the Bank Slogan .
Allahabad Bank A Tradition of Trust .
Andhra Bank Friendly, Intelligent, Responsive .
Bank of Baroda* India's International Bank .
Bank of India Relationship beyond banking .
Bank of Maharashtra One Family, One Bank .
Canara Bank We are changing for you .
Central Bank of India Central to you since 1911 .
Corporation Bank Sarve Janah Sukhino Bhavantu Prosperity to All .
Dena Bank Trusted Family Bank .
Indian Bank Taking Banking Technology to the Common Man .
Oriental Bank of Commerce Where Every Individual is Committed .
Punjab and Sindh Bank Where service is a way of Life .
Punjab National Bank The name you can bank upon .
Syndicate Bank Faithful, Friendly...


World Heritage Sites in India


The UNESCO , a specialised agency of the United Nations, has a list of sites, such as forest, mountain, lake, desert, monument, across the world which UNESCO considers is in the interest of international community to preserve each sites. These are the places of natural or cultural heritage. India with its rich biodiversity and great wildlife heritage has these natural World Heritage Sites. As of 2018, India has 36 heritage sites, the sixth most of any country.

firstResponsiveAdvt Name of Heritage sites Year Place .
Ajanta Caves 1983 Maharashtra .
Ellora Caves 1983 Maharashtra .
Agra Fort 1983 Uttar Pradesh .
Taj Mahal 1983 Uttar Pradesh .
Sun Temple 1984 Orissa .
Mahabalipuram Monuments 1984 Tamil Nadu .
Kaziranga National Park 1985 Assam .
Keoladeo National Park 1985...


Major Awards in India


Military Awards .

Param Vir Chakra: Param Vir Chakra is India\'s highest military decoration awarded for the displaying distinguished acts of valour during wartime. The name of the award translates as the "Wheel of the Ultimate Brave".

Mahavir Chakra: The Maha Vir Chakra is the second highest military decoration in India, and is awarded for acts of conspicuous gallantry in the presence of the enemy.

Vir Chakra: Vir Chakra is the third highest military decoration in India, and presented for acts of bravery in the battlefield.

Ashok Chakra: The Ashoka Chakra is India\'s highest peacetime military decoration awarded for valour, courageous action or self-sacrifice away from the battlefield. The decoration may be awarded either to military or civilian personnel. .

Kirti Chakra: The Kirti Chakra is Second in o...